USAA brokerage Roth IRA...?

i have an IRA. I have been contributing every month. Is it best to max it our as early as possible? Also, should I just leave it alone? It asks if I want to place a trade? Its a brokerage IRA through USAA. I am just learning how to invest so I am not sure what to do.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Your headed down the right path by having a brokerage account with USAA. USAA's fees and customer service are outstanding compared to other brokers. I have a USAA account as well. You will want to ensure that your money that you are contributing to the IRA is going into a mutual fund of some sort. If not, it will sit in your account and earn interest like a money market account, which is good but doesn't have the earnings potential as investing in mutual funds.

You need to evaluate how close you are to retiring and how risky you want your investments to be to help generate more cash for you when you retire. The link I have pasted below will help you determine which USAA funds to choose from based on how aggressive you feel towards your investments.

The general rule of thumb is that the closer in age you are to retiring you are more conservative with your investments and the longer you have to retire the more aggressive you are with your investments. It is also a given rule of thumb that you are better off investing more early than later. It allows your money to compound more times over the years than waiting until the last minute.

Yes. You will want to place a trade to invest in the mutual funds you have picked based on how aggressive you feel. If you need help or want to set up the IRA where it will automatically invest your contributions into mutual funds that you have picked out, just call their number:

Mutual Fund Information & Sales 1-800-531-8448

Monday - Friday, 7 a.m. - 10 p.m. CT

Saturday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. CT

Also, there is their free financial advice center you can call to help you make a decision: