all_but_8 asked in HealthDental · 1 decade ago

OSHA Fee for Dentist Visit?

I got my dental bill and noticed three OSHA fee line items for $5 each. What is an OSHA fee and what is the frequency that a dentist can charge this?

Update:

Nebula D - you've obviously misconstrued the tone of my question as "bitching"; I was asking a simple question. Answer my question for what it is, back off, and don't be so defensive.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

OSHA is Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Basically they enforce health and safety guidelines for most working environments. Most dentists don't charge the fee. However some choose to as a way to bring in extra money. You will probably be charged the fee at most of you appointments. It is just a way to help cover the costs of keeping to OSHA regulations.

Source(s): dental assistant
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

I'm a dentist.

Have you ever had the tires on your car replaced? If you have, you'd have noticed that your bill had something on it called a "disposal fee", or perhaps even an "environmental fee" on it.

If the doctor feels that he is providing a service for you, directly or indirectly, that costs him money, he is justified in charging you for it. Simple as that.

Let me ask you this question, while we're on the subject of fees: did your doctor charge you for numbing your tooth? He didn't, did he.

When a woman gets an epidural, the fee for it can top $2000. There are indeed some women who opt to give birth without it.

When your dentist, on the other hand, numbs your tooth, he has to do it for free. He pays for the syringes. He pays for the needles. He pays an arm and a leg for the anethesia medications. So, why isn't he allowed to charge you for the anesthesia?

There's no law that says that a filling can't be done without anesthesia.