promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Racial issues in Alabama a problem for exchange student?

Right now, I am an exchange student in Okinawa, and one of my Japanese classmates is leaving on a year-long foreign exchange to Alabama very soon. I am from Idaho, so I don't have much experience with the complex racial issues of that area, but I am concerned for my friend, especially since she comes from such a homogenous society; she has never been exposed to anything like this before. Are there any tips that people from the area (or anyone for that matter) can give about her living there? Will an Asian student (maybe a rare race in Alabama?) have problems adjusting? Of course, problems with cultural differences are a given in foreign exchange, but this situation may be especially difficult, more complicated than just plain culture shock. Alabama, especially, has a very volitile history, so we are all worried for her. She is very kind and still a bit naive; she may not understand all the emotions at play. Any information would be greatly appreciated; this is new territory for us!

Update:

To be honest, I really am very ignorant about the South. I've heard there are a lot of racial issues there, from people that have moved to Idaho from the area, and know that many important events in the civil rights movement occurred there. I really don't want to assume anything though. The reason I'm asking this question is because I have so little information.

Before asking this question though, I did look up the percentage of the population that's Asian: only 0.8%! Students may not have been factored in though.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer