if two hazel eyed parents?

have two blue eyed childrenn. how does that work

Update:

i have three brothers the oldest has blue the other two have brown

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Ronald G is wrong. It is possible for 2 hazel eyed parents to have blue eyed children. The Brown eye gene is dominant and the Blue recessive so if both parents have a parent with blue eyes They could have a genetic make up of Bb (BROWNblue) so when their genes are conbined there are 3 possible outcomes BB, Bb and bb. bb will result in a blue eyed child, anything else will be brown. so there's a 1 in three chance of blue eyed kids.

In other words the parents could be carrying the blue eyed gene and stil;l have brown (or hazel) eyes

2 blue eyed parents could not have a brown eyed child since they would only have the blue eye gene.

hope that helps, it's been a while since i studied this stuff!

just read the answer above mine (Ressnick), he states it well and clearly (probably clearer than me!) so i don't know why someone gave him a thumbs down. with the exception that the chance of blue eyes is 1 in 3 not 50%

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Both parents could have been heterozygous (Bb) meaning they carried the recessive blue eyed gene. B, brown would be dominant over b, blue. When you do the punnett square that would result in the alleles BB, Bb, Bb, bb, which tells us that there would be a 25% chance (bb) that every time they conceive a child, the child can end up blue eyed. It is very possible.

Yes there are 3 outcomes but it is not a 1 to 3 chance because Bb can happen twice (as I stated above), which reduces the results to a 25% possibility of the parents having blue eyed children.

• 1 decade ago