Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 1 decade ago

What questions do I ask a stock broker if I am investing for the very FIRST time?

I am about to turn 20 and I would like to invest some saved money in a low-risk stock. I've never done this before, and I'm meeting with a broker soon. What questions should I ask her and what mistakes should I be made fully aware of? Please, mature answers from experienced investors, thank you.

Jasmin

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Different people calls for different needs... So, cheap online broker may not be the best solution to your situation and need. Do not open online brokerage account and trade youself without knowing what you are doing... you will regret it very soon if so. Rather, ask if how the borker can help you. Ask him about:

1. How he charges fee or comission.

2. Ask him how he recommend investment ( his practice style)

3. Is the service a discretionary based or they will call oyou before each transaction is done.

4. Tell him/her your situation and ask what the stockbroker will recommed you to do.. do not say you need to invest in stock or any particular security type, then wait for his answer.

A good broker should probe you for your real need and he will dig really deep to understand your real goal. Observe if he or she is trying to push any particular product or certain type of stocks before he really find your financial need or goal. If so, he's more like a transaction based type of stockborker which may not be that helpful to you.

But the best way to start with investing is to invest in no load mutual funds which are low in cost and carry certain standard and method to control risk.

Let me know how the broker answers your questions next time.. I may be able to give you more suggestion.

• 1 decade ago