Anonymous asked in HealthDiet & Fitness · 1 decade ago

What are the differences in hatha yoga and vinyasa yoga?

4 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    If you are looking at a class list from a studio, then hatha yoga is generally the easier, beginner level course. It is where you will learn the yoga poses, taking time to get into proper alignment and holding each one for several breaths. Not too intense and a great way to get into yoga.

    Vinyassa yoga is based on hatha yoga, but vinyassa classes don't usually stop to teach the pose. You go from one pose to the next in a flowing manner. Poses are more advanced and the class is more intense. You'll sweat!!

    Source(s): yoga addict three years
  • liana
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

    Hatha Vs Vinyasa

  • Anonymous
    4 years ago


  • 1 decade ago

    Styles of Yoga:

    Hatha - Physical (Ashtanga, Vinyasa, Bikram, Iyengar, Sivananda, Viniyoga, Kripalu)

    Raja - Mental

    Bhakti - Devotional

    Kundalini - Energy

    Karma - Selfless Service

    Jana - Knowledge

    1. Ashtanga and Vinyasa yoga continuously flow from one posture to the next, in a vinyasa style of movement. This style of movement helps increase the efficiency of the cardiovascular and respiratory system, giving the practice an "aerobic" quality.

    Other styles of hatha yoga, like Iyengar yoga and Bikram Yoga (Hot yoga), traditionally do not flow from one pose to the next, and use more of a stop start form of movement.

    2. Ashtanga yoga holds most postures 5-7 deep breaths, with the exception of a few postures, which are held longer.

    Other styles of hatha yoga tend to hold postures longer than 5-7 breaths.

    3. Ashtanga yoga primarily focuses on the invisible or internal aspect of the practice, the deep ujjayi breath and energy locks called bandhas, adding a strong element of kundalini yoga (energy) to the practice.

    Other forms of hatha yoga tend to place most of the emphasis on the external or visible part of the practice, the pose itself, analyzing physical alignment. This endless state of analysis can keep the practitioner stuck in the mind in a perpetual state of "analysis paralysis." (Baron Baptiste's term.)

    Keep in mind that one of the many definitions of yoga states: "Yoga is the CESSATION of the fluctuations of the mind." -Patajali's Yoga Sutras.

    Therefore, yoga is not about adding more chatter to the mind.

    4. Ashtanga and Vinyasa yoga produce an INTERNAL heat thru the utilization of vinyasa movement, ujjayi breath and the bandhas, which help to detoxify the body from the inside out. This internal fire (agni) purifies the internal organs and increases metabolism, thyroid function and muscular strength, flexibility and endurance. This fire also acts as a spiritual fire to help clear the mind and body of any stress, tension and fear based thought patterns, allowing for a more peaceful sense of well-being, on and off the mat.

    Bikram yoga (Hot Yoga) uses EXTERNAL heat in its' system of yoga.

    5. Ashtanga and Vinyasa yoga have a strong emphasis on increasing upper body and core strength continuously throughout the class, more than other styles of hatha yoga.

    6. Ashtanga, Sivananda and Bikram Yoga are all SYSTEMS of yoga, which utilize a SET series of postures in a sequential order. Vinyasa yoga does not use a set series of postures, therefore the practitioner does not know which pose is next in the sequence, which can add a sense of variety to the practice.

    Hatha yoga, also known as Hatha vidya, is a particular system of Yoga introduced by Yogi Swatmarama, a sage of 15th century India, and compiler of the Hatha Yoga Pradipika. In this treatise Swatmarama introduces Hatha Yoga as 'a stairway to the heights of Raja Yoga', hence a preparatory stage of physical purification that renders the body fit for the practise of higher meditation. The Asanas and Pranayama in Raja Yoga were what the Hindu Yogis used to physically train their body for long periods of meditation. This practise is called shatkarma. The word Hatha is a compound of the words Ha and Tha meaning sun and moon and refers to the principal nadis (energy channels) of the subtle body that must be fully operational to attain a state of dhyana or samadhi. In other respects Hatha yoga follows the same principles as the Raja Yoga of Patanjali including moral restraint yama and spiritual observances niyama. Hatha Yoga is what most people in the West associate with the word "Yoga" and is practiced for mental and physical health throughout the West.

    Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is an established branch of Raja Yoga.

    The term ashtanga, meaning eight limbs, refers to the eight limbs of yoga. Thus the term does not refer to which poses one does, nor the order of poses and has nothing to do with any particular series (Primary Series, Secondary Series and so on). The term "Ashtanga" or "Astanga" does not describe whether one practices 'vinyasa' or the more sustained, focused action in poses as describe in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali; where 'asana' is described as being still and firm. In Raja Yoga, a classical Indian system of Hindu philosophy, these were expounded by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras.

    Ashtanga seeks to embody the traditional eight limbs of yoga (referred to as ashtanga or Raja Yoga) as expounded by Patanjali in his Yoga Sutras.

    The asana or practice (Hatha) aspects of this style of yoga is practiced and popularized by Madonna and Sting.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.