is a bait casting reel better for distance casting?

I'm a novice surf fisherman and I've been using a spinning reel but I think if I switch over to a bait casting reel it will help my distance, can anyone add to this?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes you will cast farther. I cast 125yrd average and much more when I really need to. Buying the right surf rod and reel can be a tricky part. I use a 10ft and a 12ft rod. The tip strength of the surf rod is the key to your casting distance while tossing out chunks of bait with a big surf weight attached. There are quite a few choices on reels, but one that holds allot of line is a must.

• 5 years ago

Unfortunately, it's not the reel, It's the operator :) Baitcasters can be a challenge at first, but neccessary for casting heavy lines into tough cover for bass, or fishing for big pike, muskies or saltwater fish. The reason it backlashes is because once the lure hits the water it's suddenly moving much slower than the line coming off the spool behind it. The line has no where to go so it starts to double-up, tangle and wraps around the spinning spool. When casting, it's necessary for you to keep light pressure on the spool with your thumb. It's a bit clumsy at first but eventually you'll get the hang of the right amount of pressure. The pressure also depends on the weight of the bait you're casting, the heavier the bait, the more pressure you'll need. Also, the friction tends to get hot on the thumb sometimes. Put a band-aid on your thumb to protect it if it bothers you. Find an open spot either on the water or in your yard and experiment with different casting weights. Also, most baitcasters have a tension adjuster that adjusts open-bail spool speed. When casting heavier baits you can turn the tension up so the spool doesn't spin so freely, thus any backlash that might occur will be smaller and more manageable. GOOD LUCK!

• 1 decade ago