Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthDiet & Fitness · 1 decade ago

Why do we have to be so sensitive towards fat people when it's their own fault?

Before yelling at me, hear me out. All through high school, I was fat. At my peak, I was 22% body fat, which is high. Deciding I had had enough, I started working out hard, walking everywhere, cutting down on my food intake, and generally doing lots of hard work, and by the time I graduated, I was 10%BF. I'm 22 now and still in good shape. My only question is why is so much sensitivity required towards fat people? In almost every case, with the exception of people with disabilities, if people are fat, its their own fault. There is only one way to become fat: eat more calories than you burn. You cannot become fat if you do not eat more than you burn. So the simple solution is to either eat less, exercise more, or do both. I'm sick of the term "overweight". Technically I'm "overweight", yet I have a low BF%; my weight comes from muscle. I've had enough with fat people complaining that "it's not our fault". Yes it is. Accept that it's your fault and work to fix it.

Update:

Before anyone thinks I'm just asking this to make fun of fat people, let me tell you I'm not. If anyone out there really does want to get in shape, let me know and I'll tell you what I did to go from 22% to 10% BF. Yes, it will require hard work, but that's just the way it goes.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

i agree.

except a lot of people become fat because of emotional issues and some just have messed up metabolisms (which i guess are both considered medical).

it is your fault if you become overweight. it's not the fact that food that is bad for you is cheap and the convenience of fast food, you made the choice to put bad stuff in your body and not take care of yourself. don't blame it on your job or your genes, it's you.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago