Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationInsurance & Registration · 1 decade ago

Should I buy car insurance or not?

I am a teenage driver of 16. Insurance is very high for a teenager. My parents have Allstate Car Insurance for four of their cars including a Toyota Corolla which im going to be driving. The Corolla is covered by AllState insurance. I have a California Driver's License and live in California. About 6 months ago, my mom asked the insurance company whether the insurance would cover the car if she lent the car to someone and the insurance company said that they would cover the car as soon as the person who borrowed the car has a VALID DRIVERS LICENSE. I have a valid drivers license but I am under 18 (I am 16). The insurance person did not say anything about age. My question is whether it is necessary or not to buy insurance for myself. It will be very expensive and I do not want to pay for it but I will If i have to. Do I have to get my own insurance for the car or not? If I dont buy insurance and I drive the corolla and get pulled over, am I okay or will I have problems?

Update:

Also if I got into an accident, will the insurance cover me?

17 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Having worked for Allstate in CA, here's what will happen in your WHAT IF scenario:

You 'borrow' mom's car and have a crash. It'll be covered, but your agent and underwriting will be notified of your driving the vehicle and you will be added to the policy and the rate for insurance will be adjusted accordingly.