Best security for a Jeep soft top?

I have a 2000 Wrangler that's been broken into several times. The last straw was when I went to get the air conditioning serviced and they told me the AC had been cut out completely! I can't afford to buy a full hard top right now. What else can I do?

Update:

As per comments on the AC: The car was used but it did have working AC for the first year plus that I had it. I am not a mechanical expert by any means so I can't comment on the rest. Anyway, my priority right now is security so all suggestions are appreciated.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

No way somebody stole your entire AC system. First of all, the Jeep wouldn't run. The compressor is belt driven by the main serpentine belt and removing that would have rendered the Jeep useless. It turns everything - starter, alternator, A/C compressor etc. Unless they crawled under there, took the tension off, removed all the A/C parts (not easy btw) and then replaced your old belt with a new, shorter one the Jeep wouldn't have even started when you came back to it. Did you by any chance buy the Jeep used? Maybe the previous owner removed it and didn't tell you.

On to the question. The absolute best way to make sure nobody steals anything out of your Jeep is to remove everything you don't want stolen and leave it unlocked. Trust me, a locked Jeep with a soft top will wind up with cut windows.

Tuffy make a bunch of really heavy duty replacement and add on compartments - I have one of their center consoles and glove boxes. Not much room, but you can fit things like IPODS and sunglasses in them.

http://www.tuffyproducts.com/

Even after adding these I lock them and leave the doors open.

Its summer time - you can probably find a used hard top for $500 or less in southern California - keep your eye on ebay and craigslist.