Moving back to New Orleans, any thoughts and advice? All comments, questions and smart remarks appreciated.?

My gf (originally from SoCal.) and I (borne and breed here) are moving back to New Orleans in three days. I've been working downtown for about a two months now and she will be working at a resturant in Metarie. We got a place in uptown. I'm not 100% sure why we are moving there, other than as an artist and writer my gut keeps calling me back to the city. (Haven't lived here since high school.)

We've been excited/nervous about the move, but recently my gf has been reading way too much craigslist and nola post like this (http://blog.nola.com/times-picayune/2007/06/robber... that has her a bit freaked out.

So what are your thoughts? Are we insane? Where are some chill places we should go?

And Barry, god bless you, please don't cut and paste your long well written response about the city. I've read it plenty of times, so give me something new. What advice would you give your daughter or son if they were moving to the city?

Update:

Thanks for answering. It helps to hear that people do still believe in this city and all it has to offer.

Our place is about two blocks south of St. Charles near Touro hospital for further clarification.

Yes the blog was a reference to the Chris Roberts and Dinerral Shavers murders.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

welcome home, new neighbor. My wife and I love living uptown. New Orleans called me here 11 years ago for college (Tulane), and I immediately fell in love. I have always lived uptown and wouldn't pick any other place in the world to live. I feel safe & believe that I have all the amenities to live comfortably here.