Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthGeneral Health CareFirst Aid · 1 decade ago

I'm pre-med and interested in becoming a paramedic, is this a good idea?

I'm a junior in college. I've completed all my pre-med requirements and done well in them. I have two years left in college and my school has a paramedic program which if I choose to do would have me qualified as a paramedic by next summer. Oh yeah, I'm already an EMT and love the work. I'm definitely interested in being a paramedic and think that it is at least as applicable in my ultimate goal of medical school as chemistry or biology is. Should I go for it?! Thanks!

Update:

I'll be entering my junior year in the fall

Update 2:

you may have figured but I'm an EMT-B.

Update 3:

I already have a chemistry minor and actually doing this program won't affect when I graduate at all.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Go for it. The experience you would get as a medic would definitely help you out in med school. Since you're already an EMT, you are familiar with the field. I think you find being a medic helpful. By all means, do it.

EMT-I (intermediate)

• barb m
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

You're already an EMT, going for paramedic is a step in the right direction. You're getting more exposure than most doctors who just stay in medical school are doing working in the field. Paramedics are the next best thing to being a doctor when there is none right away. Hey you might even be able to pay your tuition off faster working as a paramedic when you finish with med school.

• 1 decade ago