Why do followers of Islam try best to eat with their right hands and mention Allah's name before dining?

I've recently perused an article on a Canadian magazine, the Today's Parenting, regarding dining etiquette of cultures from around the globe. It stated that, "[I]n Islamic countries... one must [always bear in mind to] mention Allah's name at least once before eating, and the right hand is used to bring one's food to the mouth (because the left [though not necessarily forbidden] was reserved for toilet activities & the like, and it is offensively & stunningly rude to eat with the left [hand] so."

I am no expert on this matter & I wish to know where does this practices originate, whether in the Torah or just common muslim habits of doing so. Again, I have only read this article from a magazine, it does not contain any influencial opinions on my behalf. Let me state that I am not a muslim, and I have no intentions of offending such -- I only wish to learn about their practices. Please refrain from rude, insulting & uneccessary remarks / comments. Thank you for your understanding

Update:

Pardon me, I've forgotten what volume & issue / date number of the magazine in question.

Update 2:

Oh my goodness, yes! I meant the Koran (Q'uran)! Please forgive me for the typo. ^_^

Update 3:

To "Don Giovanni" --> have you not understood what I've bluntly stated? Please keep rude, uncessary remarks to yourself. Thank you.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

When a man ate with his left hand in the presence of the Prophet, peace and blessings be upon him, he told him: “Eat with your right hand.” (Reported by Muslim)