Anyone a Legal Secretary?

Is anyone a legal secretary/paralegal? What did you major in? Do you like your job? Good money or would you consider doing something else? Anything would help. Thank you.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Rabbit
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I've worked as a Paralegal since 1999. I have a Paralegal Certificate, an Associate Degree in Computers and am now about to complete my BBA in Information Systems. After I got the certificate, I was hired as a consultant for a paralegal school and was able to teach for awhile. Now I work for a general practice attorney. Do I like my job? Some days more than others. My BBA is in something else so I guess that answers that question. It is the office I am in that is really the problem, not the career. I do enjoy law so I'm hoping to make my career move laterally to an IT position with a Court in about a year.

• 1 decade ago

Hello...

I have a BS in journalism, and a paralegal certificate. I worked as a legal secretary for a year, and have worked as a paralegal for 6 years.

It pretty much depends on what firm you're at, and if you like your managing attorney or not, but I hated being a legal secretary. I felt like I was just a typist. I really wasn't used to my full potential. I would often point out grammatical errors to my attorney and he would insist that his way was the right way.

I prefer the work of a paralegal, but that can vary per office. I'm doing research on cases, filing forms with the state (pretty much any grunt work the attorney doesn't want to be bothered with.)

Its not horrible money, but its not great money either. I work 40 hours a week, I have a friend who is a paralegal in a litigator's office and she works 60+ hours a week!

Oh, and lastly, I don't see myself in this career forever. It does have a lot of variety, but sometimes I get down about the clients and their perceptions.

• 1 decade ago