how do i 'stock' my pantry to keep from grocery shopping so much?

i want to only have to shop to get things like milk and stuff.... how can i stock our pantry so hubby and i aren't at the grocery store 2x a week? what are some things that keep your pantry stocked?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

BOGO (buy one get one free) sales are the best way to stock up. I have been doing that for about 4-5 months now. I only run to the store to get milk , bread , eggs etc..once a week. But if you do the BOGO in about a month or two you will be stock piled pretty good. We have a family of four an it has worked out pretty good for us so far. Buy at least four of each. For example apple juice, you buy four of them an it can last you a good bit. Sometimes what I do is I shop get my BOGO, then the next day go back an get the stuff we can really use. The reason being is that they limit what you can get sometimes. So I just go back an get more! Hope this helped! Good luck!

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

Planning ahead is the key to less shopping trips. Start off with a preliminary list of the meals you will be making or wanting for the week, or two weeks as the case may be. Eat whatever you want, but write a thorough list. Then break your list down into what items you will need to make those meals and don't be afraid to buy a bit more than you'll really need. That way you will start to build up some reserves of things. Keep in mind the reserve items you keep will either need to be frozen and used soon, or they will have to be dry ingredients that can be stored in your pantry, well covered and marked clearly.

Some items you may notice may need to be picked up the day you need them but, this should only be an exception to your menu....For instance salad greens will not hold for very long and need to be used quicker than say breads or cheeses.