Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

rusalka asked in Social SciencePsychology · 1 decade ago

How do you deal with Guilt trips?

my sister always makes people feel guilty e.g if they dont do things for her,spend time with her,or help her with something.As the little sister this is pretty ingrained,but it is now driving me mental.I say no then I feel guilty.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Iris
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Lol... I am an expert in this, I've got a lifetime of experience with it!

You deal with guilt trips by NOT indulging them. Guilt trips are a manipulation. She wants to make you feel guilty so that you either do what she wants, or punish yourself for not doing it by feeling guilty. When someone is trying to manipulate you, you deal with it by NOT playing their game. They get their payoff when the manipulation works; So, don't let it affect you.