How do I pick a good sewing machine? I am a beginner?

I want to learn how to sew but don't know which machine is good enough to continue to use as I get better but easy enough for a beginner to learn on.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I don't advise spending a lot of money on your first machine. The basic machines are adequate for most types of general sewing; clothes, light quilting, etc. All you really need to get started is a straight stitch, a double straight stitch, a zig-zag, a button-hole stitch, and a zipper foot. The more expensive "fancy" machines are harder to learn to use and maintain and many have options that the general stitcher will never use. Another good reason to go with a reasonably priced simple machine is that you may decide that sewing is not your thing; if that happens I'd hate to see you stuck with a sewing machine that cost you several hundred dollars. I personally have been sewing for over 30 years and have had a basic model Brother sewing machine for almost 20 years now. I make clothes, stuffed toys, baby blankets, quilts, just about anything you can think of. Good luck and happy sewing.

• 1 decade ago

Before you purchase Any sewing machine, check out the repair shops in your area. There are lots of places selling machines but you would like to know that you can get repairs (if necessary) locally. Check and see which machines they are willing to work on,

chances are that they'll steer you Away from junk machines.

I've got an old peddle Singer, a Singer that serges, and a White's free-arm zig-zag machine. (Relatively Local maintenance for Both machines.)

Any basic machine that you purchase should be able to straight stitch and zig zag, An easy button hole switch is a plus, some come with easy threading or bobbin refilling. Free arms come in handy for tight spot stitching, children's clothing (repair) and crafts.