Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Pregnancy & ParentingPregnancy · 1 decade ago

Should I tell employeer I'm pregnant when looking for a new job?

I'm 19 weeks pregnant - and showing a lot. Although I don't HAVE to look for a new job, I am. The flexability of my job is great with the dr.s appointments and being able to stay home if I don't feel well, but I hate my job. And my boss. I'm always on the look out for better opportunities. I'm unsure if I should tell them I'm pregnant before going on the interview, if so, how? Or if I should just wait until the interview. Do you think most employeers will turn me away because they figure I'm going to be out of work for a short period of time to have the baby? I don't plan on being out long, I'm single and I HAVE to work.

Any advice will help. Thanks :)

Update:

My Current employeer knows I'm prego - the whole office does. But I'm an independent contractor here - and I've been here for a year with out a raise or benifits.I have my own medical insurance so a place with or w/out benifits isn't an issue. Not to mention I drive 100 miles each day round trip. I'm looking for a new job for more money and/or closer to home. Just wondering if I do happen to see a good job I can't pass up - if I should tell them before the interview that I'm prego - or wait until after the interview and/or hire. I'm sure they will be able to tell when I walk in the door.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer