Do I need to get a lawyer for second degree trespassing?

A few days ago I got a 2nd degree trespassing ticket for skateboarding at my local park in Wilmington, NC two days before it officially opened. The concrete workers that built the skatepark told me that it was supposed to open on Friday, the day that I got the ticket. There are "no trespassing" signs on the fence around it. I am 19 years old but was not arrested. The ticket the officer gave me says "without authorization entered on premises of another after being notified no to enter there by a notice posted not to enter the premises. NCGS 14-159.13" Should I represent myself, hire a lawyer, or get a court apointed lawyer? Thanks in advance for advice.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

If you do not feel you are guilty of a crime, by all means plead "Not Guilty!"

• 1 decade ago

You might get the best deal by negotiating with the officer so that the conviction is for an offense that will have the least possible impact on your college application process or, if you are already in college, future job applications, although convictions at this level rarely have to be disclosed. Many municipalities don't really care how the charge is listed as long as the fine is collected. If you are very persuasive, you might even convince him to drop the charge altogether.

You are not likely to gain anything by hiring an attorney in a municipal court. With a little preparation, you can present your case just as well yourself--better, actually since you won't engage in the kind of legal maneuvering that tends to annoy municipal judges.