Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Beauty & StyleFashion & Accessories · 1 decade ago

What do fashion designers use math for?

16 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Taking measurements (off model or manequin), making patterns, adjusting patterns, adding costs, figuring markup, placing orders...

Source(s): degree in fashion design
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

A lot more than you would think! I'm not a fashion designer but I do make a lot of my own clothes and if I weren't good at math none of my clothes would fit! I use it for measuring out people and fabric, figuring how much fabric to buy with less waste, adjusting patterns, figuring seam allowance, distance for buttons, zippers, snapes, and god only knows what else! I spend more time doing math than I do sewing on any given outfit! So if that is a career you're considering be sure to pay attention in math class! Good luck!

• 1 decade ago

Math is all about problem solving using logic. It's about being able to find the only correct answer to a problem and not just a guess.. It's not about the math itself (a calculator can do that), but rather the problem solving practice you get from it.

Applying math to fashion design would come into play with geometry. Shapes, sizes, etc. are a big part of fashion design.

• 1 decade ago

Lets us say that you have only five thousand dollars for a budget to put together a new line of clothes. You would have to figure out, based on your designs, what types of fabric you need, how many square feet you need of each type, and how much each type costs, all to figure out is you have enough money to make it or if you might have to use a cheaper fabric.

Also if you were into mass production you would need to know how many items could be made a day and how much labour would cost. A large part of fashion design is in the business and many designers never make it because they fail to understand the idea of a break-even cost.