My Dell pc keeps rebooting itself, any suggestions as to what might be causing it?

Update:

Actually it does just fine until I try to open a program, any program

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hello,

My name is Mike, I’m a Technical Analyst located at Dell corporate headquarters in Round Rock, TX. I’m part of an internet outreach team developed to interact with the online community regarding technical questions and issues that customers face with Dell products. I’ve read about the problem you’re having and wanted to offer some help.

First, if possible, get to the desktop and open the “Run” box from the start menu or by pressing the windows key and “R”, then type in “shutdown –a” without the quotation marks. This tells the system to not reboot or shutdown in the event of a fatal system error. If this doesn’t work, try booting into safe mode by tapping the <F8> key when you see the DELL logo at boot. This will put the machine into a simple boot mode with no extra drivers then those needed to start the machine. If the problem happens in safe mode as well you may have a corrupt Windows file and you may need to reinstall windows. A guide to help you do this can be found here: http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx...

If the problem is heat related then you will notice the system shutting off without having to open any programs. You will also notice that the amount of time the system stays powered on is reduced with every reboot. In other words, you turn it on and it shuts off in 5 minutes. Then you turn it back on and it shuts down in 4.5 minutes, then 3 minutes, then 2 minutes, etc... The system should also give you a warning message saying it was shut down due to an unexpected thermal event. If it only happens when you open an application though I don’t think it will have anything to do with overheating.