saturn asked in Business & FinanceCredit · 1 decade ago

What is the minimum credit score you need to have to qualify for an FHA home loan?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

FHA does not have a minimum credit score requirement. There are guidelines that you have to meet (home purchase price must be below a specified price for your area), and you do need to credit qualify but there is no minimum score requirement. I am a loan officer, and have personally closed several FHA loans with scores as low as 550.

What they are looking for is a clean last 12 months. Nothing can be late, no new collections etc in the last year. You may also be required to pay off old collection accounts prior to funding the loan. Lastly, if you had a bankruptcy, you need to have been clean since the BK. They want to see that you have learned your lesson and are managing your credit appropriately.

Last, whoever said FHA,VA, and Sallie Mae loans are bad. Sallie Mae loans are for student loans, not for home. FHA and VA have easier credit requirements than a conforming Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac loan, but still offer very low competitive rates. If you can't qualify for a conforming loan, but can qualify for an FHA it will almost always be your best route to financing.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 3 years ago