Bartending school and those bartending classified ads -- worth it?

I'm a 24-year-old grad student looking for summer work and possibly some extra cash during the year, and I'm interested in getting a job bartending. I have no real experience serving besides bartending for a friends' charity party (not for pay and we had a set list of drinks). So I have two questions:

1) Is bartending school worth it? Both in terms of the possible connections and in terms of learning how to make drinks, etc. I don't have a lot of money right now, so I'm not sure how I would pay for the classes but I'm also not sure how I'd get a job without them.

2) Has anyone gone through those "Bartenders Wanted -- no Experience necessary -- we train" classified ads I see everywhere (they're usually run through the AAN-CAN company, I think)? Is it a scam?

Thanks so much. Answers for either or both questions would be great!!!!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I did one of those bar tending classes in Delaware.....They are kinda pricey, (I think it was about $300.00) but I did learn how to make about 200 different drinks. The girl that taught me even took us to a bar in Wilmington to practice one night. She gave us a lot of good mnemonic devices to help us remember what liquors are used....It was a fun time too.

As for getting a job, most NICE places (IE , places where the money is good) hire from within the company...You have to work for a couple of years to gain their trust to get behind the bar. Starting out, you might work at a dank pit, but hey, it's good experience- think of it as an internship :)

If you know a friend that is bartending, that may a good way in also.....I got a job tending bar at a Chi-chi's from a close friend even though I had no real tending experience. In the meantime, why not try waiting tables? It is good rest. experience, and you can make great money.

Best of luck

defiant_mike

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • BeMadd