Anyone have advice regarding an answering service for my business?

I am considering an answering service, but I am not sure what to do. As a contractor, I really like to answer all my own calls, so I don't miss any new potential customers. I don't want to hire an employee to just answer the phone, but it is sometimes difficult for me to get to every call, so I thought hiring an answering service might be a good solution. I know there are a lot of companies out there that do this type of stuff, but I really am more interested/concerned with the wisdom of getting a service in the first place. My main concern is that it will actually lower my close rate if the people answering the phone don't know what they are talking about, after all, they of course won't be as knowledgeable about my trade as I am. Has anybody had any good/bad experiences with answering services? How did it go with a non-contractor picking up your "precious" calls?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

i had a answering service, they wont discuss any part of your busines they will answer with your business name and tell the potential customer that they will have a rep/ you call them back shortly. this will ofcourse bring your sales down because the costomer will move on and find somebody pretty quick depending on what type of business you have. it has its good points and bad but its a choice you have to make. good luck

• jkc
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

This is really a tough one because you are right - people will continue on looking for someone if they don't get an immediate response.

We were kind of in the same dilemma as you, but there are two of us. I can at least tell you what we did.....