can anyone recommend good books for studying USMLES?

i am a UK medical graduate and would like to do the USMLEs but would like info on what books to use, general advice about usmles and how long i should study and from those in a similar position to myself. also where to find useful info on the net re: what i will need to do as a foreign medical graduate. i already have US passport. are the kaplan courses worth it?any help much appreciated!

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm not a foreign medical graduate, but this is the information I have. For USMLE Step One, I used the First Aid for Step 1 & the BRS Pathology. Kaplan's website has a site called Q-bank that I felt was really helpful. The average study time for a third year medical student in 5-6 weeks for Step 1. Two weeks for Step 2. Whether or not the Kaplan course is helpful depends on whether you are a good self studier or not. The people in my class who used it are people who learn better going to lectures. I haven't taken Step 2 yet, but all the fourth year students at my school insist First Aid CK and CS are really helpful.

Hope this is helpful. Best of Luck!

Source(s): third year medical student getting ready to take Step 2.
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

The books and the time to prepare differ widely according to ur medical knowledge level.. so no one can give u a perfect list of books or timetable..

- The Kaplan courses are definitely worth it.. they are the golden standard for the USMLE success and the clear-cut way to high score. But u may need to read some more additional books to reinforce the weak areas in ur knowledge that u’ll find as u go through ut preparation.

- Another golden advice is: try to do as much questions as u can.. the more questions u do, the higher score u get.. and again the Kaplan’s are the best.. i.e. QBook and QBank.. also USMLEWORLD website Question are cute..