Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Question to any Civil Engineers out there?

Hi, I'm in college right now and my major is civil engineering.

1)What kind of work do you do on a daily basis, and is it exciting?

2)Do you get to interact/mess around w/ your coworkers for fun? (or is it a strict serious boring type of job)

3)Also what minor degree do you recommend for me to go along with my civil engineering degree? (business or criminal justice?)

Thanks in advance for your input/advice!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm an EIT(engineer in training) at a structural engineering firm.

As a civil engineer student, you have a variety of specialties within your major to choose from. There is environmental, structural, water resources, geological, and general... At some point, usually your junior year, you will take electives in one of these directions.

I draft and design various structures all day... Using calculations and programs, you create a building that fits into what an architect envisions. I find it creative and challenging.

The interaction between clients and yourself should usually be professional, no matter what job you are in. However, as you build a relationship, there is plenty of room for jovial conversations.

As a recommendation for a minor... Well, business is always useful, as most civil engineers start up their own firms after gaining experience. Although, within the next decade, programing within our field will be very, very useful. You could also major in geological science, if you had any interest in soil analysis.

Good luck!

• 1 decade ago