when trying to buy a car what credit bureau do dealers use to get your score?

I want to buy a car, but I was wondering which bureau do the dealers get your score? My Equifax score is 620, Experian is 650 and Transunion is 591. I want the best rate and a not so high payment.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Auto finance is what I do for a living. It doe's not matter what bureau the dealer looks at, they will pull Equifax and Transunion because these are the two that the banks look at for car deals.

Since you score better on Equifax, they will submit you to a lender that pulls Equifax like H.S.B.C. or Citifinancial. They might also submit you to lenders that look at Transunion since 591 is not a bad score either. They would be Wells Fargo and Chrysler.

Now, with these scores you will not get prime rates, you will fall into what we call sub-prime and your rate will depend on the structure of the deal. This will depend on how much you are borrowing in relation to the value of the vehicle in N.A.D.A. or LTV (loan to value), how long you are borrowing the money for, how many miles are on the vehicle, how old is it, how much are you putting down, how long have you been at your residence/on your job and how much do you make a month before taxes.

Source(s): Finance Manager for a car dealer for over 7-years.
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

Advantag Equifax and Experian all give there info then the dealership generally will either pick the worst one or give an average

• 3 years ago