Do you know anyone who has commited suicide...did you try to stop them?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

My best friend in high school did. I had moved away and talked to him that night after school. He was really depressed and not sure what to do. Never did he give me any sign that he was thinking of suicide though. The next morning I got an email from his mom letting me know that he had overdosed late the night before. I was devastated.

• 1 decade ago

I have some expert knowledge here as I worked at a home for troubled boys for a while. Also, my ex threatened suicide on a couple of occasions. If you are around someone who threatens suicide take them seriously. The old saying that those who threaten suicide are not serious is wrong. Your first step is to calmly call the police. A person can be hospitalized up to 96 hours to determine their mental health if admitted by the police. This serves a couple of good things. It gets a troubled person help and it covers your butt. The benefit of getting help is obvious. Covering your butt id good too because you are most likely not a mental health professional and you could save yourself from investigation and possible civil (and even on rare occasions, criminal) liability. However, if I only can get one point accross: TAKE THEM SERIOUSLY IF SOMEONE THREATENS SUICIDE!!!

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

I never knew anyone who comitted suicide (thank goodness) but I do know people who have had loved ones do it. The one that sticks out the most in my mind is my best friend's husband and his brother found their father in the closet hanging by a belt when they were kids.

• 1 decade ago

Unfortunatley I have lost a few friends through suicide.

It is something that is difficult to stop, if the person is intent on their course of action, no matter how much reasoning or empathy given, its the mind set of the individual that is in control.