What kind of wine goes best with thai food?

I'm having takeout thai for dinner tonight and want to know what kind of (cheapish) wine to go with it. Any suggestions?

13 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I have a lot of experience with wine and with food. While I am not Thai, I can confidently say that I have never had a red wine that went well with the spicy flavors.

Instead, one of my absolute favorite wine and food pairings is spicy Thai food with a German Riesling. The bright acidity and slight sweetness balances the spiciness beautifully and is in my opinion one of the great food and wine pairings possible.

My wine buddies and I used to go to a wine bar in San Francisco which had a great selection of German Rieslings and had spicy appetizers such as Thai curried mussels. They were heaven together!

While top rieslings can get expensive, the lower sweetness levels, such as Kabinett or Spatlese (the Spat being slightly riper and sweeter but still not near as sweet as a dessert wine) are pretty inexpensive. Even cheaper are QbA German wines. They usually just say the producer's name and riesling on the label without a vineyard name or a Kabinett, Spatlese, Auslese or other designation.

Go to a good wine shop with a good selection of German rieslings and ask a salesperson to recommend an inexpensive one for you.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

I'm glad to see a question like yours. It's a misconception that wines (western) are not compatible with Asian cuisine. I don't really care much about convention so thru the years I enjoy my wines when having Thai or Chinese food.

Thai dishes are varied and flavorful. Many carry the heat of chilies and other spices. A good inexpensive white from the Alsace-France will bring its own spice to pairing - the wine is dry with ripe fruit flavors.