if you are against cloning, should you be against artificial insemination too? how about c-section?

Update:

how about if i wasnt talking about human cloning?

Update 2:

im not saying that thay are equal but i want to point out that they are "modern" medical practices. that should include cloning too

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I suppose it depends on what you mean by 'cloning'.

Many years ago and in a different 'incarnation' I worked in a hospital where 'clones' were used for research. They are called 'cell lines' and allow one to obtain a quantity of identical cells. The best known was obtained from a tumour from someone called Henrietta Lacks.

We use clones every day in our lives. Many plants we eat are effectively cloned. Potatoes, bananas, grapes.

But I guess what you mean is the 'cloning' of an entire animal. In which case the differences between artificial insemination are primarily the medical techniques used to obtain the result.

The difficulties I guess are not anything to do with the biology therefore, it's the 'ethics' involved. It could be argued that the HeLa cells (above) were obtained unethically. But I think most people's objections really only start to come in once 'consciousness' and 'individuality' come into the equation.

My problems are not the procedures therefore, but the purpose for which one would do such a thing. And the idea of creatures being created as 'organ spares' or whatever is distasteful to me. Even the idea that one could potentially give a woman a baby by using one of her own cells alone causes me problems. But you'll note from my terminology that it is the idea of such things that I am uneasy with. The science bit I think is 'neutral'.

In the end I think it comes down to how much we each feel we should 'interfere' with nature. I personally draw lines at GMOs but I know many people have no problem with them.

Interesting question. Apologies for the rambling answer.

• meg3f
    Lv 5