Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

How do I write out my special skills for an acting resume?

I want it to sound like i know what I'm doing, even though im not. The questions are, List any special skills(dancing,singing,musical instruments, etc.)

and

List any hobbies (sailing, coin collection,knitting,painting,etc)

Now i have seen sample resumes that people put everything from shopping to rollerbladding and eating. What should i put and how should i put it.

I- play the violin,recorder, (fake a mean piano),i know hot to crochet, i can shop,eat,cook,drive,hikes, fun dancing-Which translates to..im not a professional but im not afraid to sway my hips and throw my ahnds in the air. I like to be on the computer and i love music and dried flowers.. and so much more!

PLEASE HELP! im going to an open call on saturday for a major movie in chicago!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I have been in acting for quite awhile, and the one thing I learned is that directors/producers do not really care for a bunch of b.s. on a resume. When I direct a show, I can usually tell when someone is "padding" their resume. When it comes to skills that might translate into performance, be sincere. Listing things like being computer literate, liking dried flowers and such might be great for MySpace or other profiles, but it won't do much good on the stage. Some of the things you did list would actually make sense though: crocheting, playing the violin, dancing. These could actually be used on stage, and probably have been.