Isn't this demeaning?

At my workplace, we are required to request permission to use the restroom. Also, as much as possible, we are expected to wait either until one of our two 10-minute breaks or until our 30-minute lunch break to go to the toilet. Excuse me, but I'm a 33-year-old woman. Call me crazy, but when I graduated high school, I didn't think that I would ever have to request anyone's permission to use the toilet ever again. I'm not in f*cking kindergarten! Also, I don't want to wait until my breaks to use the restroom, because I want to actually relax and enjoy my breaks, rather than spend them sitting on the toilet seat!

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

That IS demeaning!!! I mean, don't get me wrong, i work in a restaurant where you simply do not have the time to use the bathroom most of the time and when you do, sometimes we pick a cigarette over peeing because we needed that more!!! A #2? OUT OF THE QUESTION most nights!!! However, we don't have to ask. That is just retarded. You can thank the people who messed that up for you though. People who have abused going to the bathroom before, I guess. Why don't you just find another job? From your answers on here, you sound way too smart to even have to put up with that crap!

• 1 decade ago

I think it depends on what kind of job you have. If you are working retail, grocery store, fast food, etc then having to ask permission or wait is normal. I used to work in these fields before so I know how it is to request permission. I think you'll find this requirement is in place to either keep from being short handed or because of past problems with employees abusing bathroom privileges....staying in there too long, going home without punching out, etc.

• 1 decade ago