What percent down payment is needed to buy a house?

My fiance and I both have credit scores over 700. We are looking into buying a house soon but have not saved a down payment. What percentage of the total loan amount should we expect to have to save to get a good interest rate?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Best Answer

Adam, I'm a mortgage consultant and I'll tell you that you can get a 100% loan with a great rate and no points as long as you have all the factors needed to qualify for that program. Believe it or not there are some 100% programs out there with great rates. Aside from your credit score and the money you have saved up... there are other factors involved to get you qualified for a great rate.

• 1 decade ago

Traditionally this number has always been 20%, however with the turbulent lending market being what it has been over the past several years you can now get a house with 0 down. However keep in mind that the way this is accomplished is by giving the lender a good first or traditional loan typically not higher than 90% and a second for the rest of the of the amount needed. The first loan, say a 30yr fixed, would be at around (example) 6.5% and the second would then be around 12%-15% depending. So it really helps to have anything, even 5% down, but to get a good 30 fixed rate go with 10% minimum.

• 1 decade ago

In order to not have to pay PMI (mortgage insurance) most companies will insist on 15%. Sometimes you can buy a home with as little as 5% down, but you will likely pay a higher interest rate. If either of you are veterans, look into a VA loan. If not, look into an FHA loan. There are lots of options out there, depending on your location. The less you put as a down payment, the higher your interest rate is likely to be, regardless of your credit score. If you are buying a home directly from an owner, you can arrange your own terms to an extent. Hope this helps...