Ermi asked in Business & FinanceInvesting · 1 decade ago

Stock buying question?

I am a beginner investor; I have some money to invest in the stock market. I

have also selected the particular stocks to buy. Now, what method do you

recommend in allocating the total money for each individual stock?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Gene
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

First of all, put some money in bonds, some money in secure money markets and for stocks divide it up accordingly. Mutual funds are best. The mutual funds that go up in good times and bad are Gaming stocks (like Aztar, etc...) and a mutual fund of high end stores and the like that caters to billionaires. The market can do whatever it wants, they don't care. There is a mutual fund that has Tiffany's in it as well as 4 Seasons, Nieman Marcus, etc... Also the baby boomers are getting older and a mutual fund of pharmaceuticals would be good which include Abbott Laboratories, Eli Lilly, Bristo-Myers, etc... That way if one company has a patent expiring and their medication is going generic or if one is being sued, you won't feel it because the others will soften the blow.

• 1 decade ago

Make sure you can invest at least $1000 in each individual stock (preferably 50 or 100 shares at the least). Otherwise the stock will have to go up tremendously before you even break even after commissions.

I made that mistake when I was first investing--I didn't have much money so I bought 6 shares of 6 different stocks. I kept them for years and they all went up by several dollars each (or more). But I barely made any money. I'd have been better off only buying one stock or just sticking the money I had in an index fund (which is where I put my "real" investments anyway).

Source(s): banker
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago