Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

murat u asked in SportsSwimming & Diving · 1 decade ago

What's a good diet for swimming? Before and after the pool?

28 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Ok, well I understand that everyone is trying to give you good advice, but here's the deal. I've been a swimmer for 20 years. Just finished my collegiate career and am now swimming Masters. More importantly, my major is dietetics (food and nutrition) and I am going into Sports Nutrition next year for graduate school. I have researched a lot about what should be eaten when. Most importantly, eat what your stomach can handle. Even if eating dog poop would make you swim extremely fast, would you? I think not. Also you don't want to eat something your stomach isn't used to that will make it upset. (not fun to try to swim when every 10 minutes you run to the bathroom) Secondly, hydration is extremely important. You should be taking sips of water every 15 minutes at least. Depending on how competitive you are drinking Gatorade or another "sports drink" can be helpful during practice. Realize that it might take your body a week or two to get used to having the easily digested sugars in your stomach. Before practice, eat what you like. A carbohydrate is best because during the majority of your practice your body will be using carbs for fuel. I like to eat two pieces of whole wheat toast before morning practice. (as for how long before you swim, it depends again on what your body can handle. I knew many swimmers that would eat a burger 10 minutes before they swam-yuck! But they were fine) After practice-the first 30 minutes are the