Laici asked in SportsRunning · 1 decade ago

Some tips on running?

Can you guys help me please..I'm new at running and need some tips.

1.What types of shoes should I get for sprinting?(not the brand,the type) Getting Nike anyways

2.What kind of warm ups and cool downs should I do before and after running?

3.What types of food should I eat before and after running,btw I'm on a diet trying to lose the extra pounds.

4.I'm 13 and weight lift like 2-3 times a week,is it ok for me to lift 2-5 kgs?

5.I run 2 times a week-30 minutes,do I have to increase the number of days I run?I run on Mondays and Thursday..I don't got a lot of time so I just do 30 minutes.

6.How do I run faster?What are the techniques for sprinting and to run faster?

7.About high jump too...the technique and how to jump higher?

Thats all I wanna ask right now.

Hope you guys answer this.Thanks.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

1. Not to bash Nike, but my favorite brand was Asics. Nike makes shoes for everything while Asics sticks to just running, etc.

2. My coach always had us a 1/2 mile warm up and 1/2 mile cool down before and after practice. It's a good enough distance to get everything nice and warm.

3. Pasta, mac and cheese, any real carbs the night before and the day off, i always just stuck to a normal breakfast (cereal) and a normal lunch (sandwich) with nothing new that could make me sick or nauseous, but I would eat up to 4 hours or more before i run.

4. As long as you don't over exert yourself

5. It wouldn't hurt to add a day or 2 to your normal routine and you don't necessarily have to add more time, you can just add a little more distance whenever and jus tell yourself your finishing it in 30 minutes.