Income tax query regarding PA and IL?

Hi,

I would really appreciate if you could help me with my tax situation.

I am an IT consultant/contractor and my employer is based in Schamburg, Illinois. Since I am a contractor I am working at a client location in Lansdale PA. For the full year of 2006 I lived and maintained residence in PA only. My taxes were deducted from my paychecks for the state of Illinois only. Now when I am filing my returns, since I am a full year resident of PA, I owe taxes to PA.

Questions 1: Can I get a full refund from Illinois??

Even though I was employed by a company there, I didn't maintain a residence there or live there. I was told that there is no reciprocal agreement between IL and PA and hence I cant get a refund from IL and have to pay taxes to PA as well. I am not sure if this is true. Why should I pay taxes to both the states?

Can you please help or provide any advice??

Thanks.

Ash.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Complete form IL1040 and Sch NR for Illinois, as a non resident to get a refund of taxes paid, file in PA as a resident

A nonresident taxpayer ( i.e., you were not an Illinois resident at any time during the tax year), must file Form IL-1040 and Schedule NR if

you earned enough taxable income from Illinois sources to have a tax liability (i.e., your Illinois base income from Schedule NR, Step 5, Line 50 is greater than your Illinois exemption allowance on Schedule NR, Step 5, Line 54), or

you want a refund of any Illinois Income Tax withheld in error. You must attach a letter of explanation from your employer.

For more information, refer to Schedule NR, Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Computation of Illinois Tax, and that schedule’s instructions.

http://www.revenue.state.il.us/Individuals/FilingR...

• 1 decade ago