south europe travel plan?

I plan to travel spain,italy and greece, or even other countries in between those this summer. I was wondering anyone can give me any advice as to which country i should start of with and how to get from one country to another.

Basically, any advice! I am new to Europe!

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

People often overlook Austria - I just finished two weeks there and it continues to be one of my favorite places in the world.

My advice - don't try to go to too many countries - pick a couple and plan on spending more time in them. Visit the tourist places but then go into the countryside, stay at small inns and pensions, and get to know the people. In Europe the trains are very good - and renting a car can sometimes be affordable as well.

If you speak any of the languages - Spanish, German, Italian - so much the better. People will be delighted that you are trying and will be ready to help you out and welcome you. If you can move beyond being a "tourist" and get to know the people as well as the monuments, you will have a much more interesting trip. It's not how many places you visit, but what you experience - and that takes more than a bus tour or a guide book.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

well, since you are visiting Greece, i would suggest to see an amazing city in Macedonia, near the greek border - Ohrid. Here is something about it:

During the day you can go on any of the many beautiful beaches by the shore of the lake, do some shoping, sightseeing in the city or just sit in one of the many cafés in any of the narrow streets in the Old Town and enjoy. For all the young people, the nightlife is great and vibrant. The cafes work late at night, but there’re also so many nightclubs where you can carry on from there.