Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationOther - Cars & Transportation · 1 decade ago

Driving....??

in the state of Indiana how old do you need to be to get your permit,and once you get your permit how long do you wait to get your licence...??

also what is the process of getting your permit...??

PLEASE ANSWER WHOLE QUESTION....Thanks a bunch

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Teen Drivers

    Getting your Learner's Permit

    The BMV issues a number of different types of driver licenses. Most people need only a standard operator license. There are also special permits issued to individuals who are in the process of learning to drive. The materials in the following sections detail the various licenses and permits issued by the BMV, the eligibility requirements for each license or permit and the extent of driving privileges authorized for each license or permit.

    DRIVER EDUCATION LEARNER PERMIT

    The driver education learner permit is a limited learner permit issued for the sole purpose of allowing a student driver to enroll in a BMV-approved driver education course.

    Eligibility:

    To obtain a driver education learner permit the applicant must:

    be at least 15 years of age at time of issuance;

    provide proof of identity and date of birth from the current ID list;

    show proof of enrollment in a BMV-approved driver education program by surrendering the certificate of driver education form (CDE) provided by the school, properly filled out and dated no sooner than three weeks prior to the start of class;

    successfully pass the standard vision screening test; and

    if less than 18 years of age, have an appropriate family member sign the financial responsibility agreement portion of the application.

    A valid Social Security number is required by Indiana State and Federal law for all license and permit transactions. If an applicant’s Social Security number is not on the BMV internal record, proof of Social Security will be required.

    View the Indiana BMV Documentation List

    Extent of Driving Privileges:

    The holder of a driver education learner permit may participate in practice driving after having started an approved driver education program when accompanied by:

    a certified driving instructor in the front seat of a car equipped with a dual brake, or

    when accompanied in the front passenger seat by a parent or guardian who holds a valid driver license. Once the holder of a driver education learner permit has successfully completed the driver education program and the driver education instructor validates the permit (i.e.; classroom and behind -the -wheel grades, school stamp(s) or seal, completion date an instructor signature) then the holder may participate in practice driving if the front passenger seat is occupied by a parent, guardian, stepparent or other relative with a valid driver license in his or her possession.

    A driver education learner permit does not legally allow you to drive alone under any circumstances.

    NOTE: Your driver education learner permit is not valid if you do not complete the driver education class or if you do not meet all course requirements. The student must return to the license branch at 16 years of age to apply for a learner permit upon successfully completing a written test. When the driver education permit expires, all privileges expire with it.

    LEARNER PERMIT

    The learner permit allows an individual to practice driving to qualify for an operator license.

    Eligibility: To obtain a validated learner permit the applicant must:

    be at least 16 years of age;

    provide proof of identity and date of birth from the current ID list;

    successfully pass the standard vision screening test;

    pass a written knowledge test based on the information contained in this manual; and

    if less than 18 years of age, have an appropriate family member sign the financial responsibility agreement portion of the application.

    A valid Social Security number is required by Indiana State and Federal law for all license and permit transactions. If an applicant’s Social Security number is not on the BMV internal record, proof of Social Security will be required.

    View the Indiana BMV Documentation List

    Extent of Driving Privileges:

    The extent of driving privileges depends upon the age of the holder. If:

    the holder is less than 18 years of age, he or she may practice driving only while the front passenger seat is occupied by a parent, guardian, stepparent or other relative with a valid driver license in his or her possession; or if

    the holder is at least 18 years of age; he or she may practice driving only while the front passenger seat is occupied by any individual with a valid driver license in his or her possession.

    A learner permit does not allow you to drive alone under any circumstances.

    NOTE: If the learner permit expires it is no longer valid, and you must pass the appropriate tests to obtain a new permit and hold it 60 days.

    I

    Source(s): Hope this helps!! My daughter just asked me the same question!
  • 1 decade ago

    I live in Texas so I am really not sure of an answer for your specific state, however since you are on line you may want to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles for the state of Indiana.

  • 3 years ago

    A lust to make earnings spite of the outcomes to others. funds comes in the previous each and every thing else. As for different posters here talking approximately honor and the kinfolk etc. all i will say is they needless to say have in no way spent any time in China. if that they had achieved they might recognize that those ideals are thoroughly incorrect. Honor, integrity, truthfullness etc. etc. basically would not exist in the chinese language charecter. Dont have self assurance the lies you have been informed with regard to the chinese language people, they have not everywhere in the civilised international.

  • 1 decade ago

    Click on the link, Gives you all the info for Indiana

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    151/2 and 6 months later you can get a license..

    just fill out the forms and take the written test

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    16 6months segment 2 two months

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    yes

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    I just finished Drivers Ed, so I know a couple good website to look at for your answers. I'll come back and click "edit" on this answer and give you more details, I just wanted to claim my place at the top of the list real fast (not like anyone else is answering anyway). Just give me five minutes!

    OK, I'm back. Here's what I've found so far:

    Learner's Permits

    Indiana issues two types of learner's permits: the driver education learner permit, and the regular learner permit. Both permits may be obtained at any license agency. No appointment is necessary to get your permit, and the cost for each is $9.

    Driver Education Learner's Permit

    If you're at least 15 but still younger than 16, and wish to start driving, you'll need to get this type of permit first. You'll also need to take a driving education course.

    This permit enables you to take the required state approved driver education course, either through your high school or a private driving school. See our Driver Education section for details.

    In order to obtain this permit, you must:

    Be at least 15 years old.

    Pass the vision test.

    Show proof of identity and date of birth from the approved documentation list.

    Prove that you've enrolled in an approved driver education class. You can do this by showing the certificate of driver education form given to you by the school. You cannot do this more than three weeks before the class begins.

    Also, everyone younger than 18 needs to have a parent or legal guardian sign the financial responsibility form or section on the application, and have it notarized.

    Once you've been given the driver education learner permit and started your class, you may practice your driving―but only with a certified driving instructor sitting next to you. Also, the car must have dual brakes.

    Then, after you've successfully completed the course, you can continue to practice your driving skills with a parent, legal guardian, step-parent or other relative who has a valid driver's license, sitting in the passenger seat.

    It's important to note that your permit becomes invalid if you do not successfully complete your course. Once you've turned 16, you'll need to apply for a regular learner permit in that case.

    Learner's Permit

    This permit simply allows you to practice your driving in order to obtain your license. Everyone who is at least 16 needs to get one of these before they can get their first license. You'll need to have your permit for at least 60 days before you may apply for your license. To qualify, you must:

    Be at least 16.

    Pass both the written and vision tests.

    Show proof of identity and date of birth from the approved documentation list.

    Also, if you're younger than 18, you'll need to have a parent or legal guardian sign the financial responsibility form or section on the application, and have it notarized.

    If you're younger than 18, having this permit allows you to drive with a parent, legal guardian, step-parent, or other relative who has a valid driver's license, sitting in the passenger seat.

    If you're 18 or older, you may drive with anyone who has a valid driver's license sitting next to you.

    You should be aware that if your permit expires, you'll need to pass the written and vision tests again and hold your new permit for at least 60 days before applying for your license.

    Written Examination

    To pass the written exam, you'll need to download the Indiana Driver Manual or pick up a copy at any license agency. The manual contains all the information you'll need to pass the test. You will need the free Adobe Reader to download and read PDF files.

    The test is multiple-choice, and will quiz you on your knowledge of traffic maneuvers, signs, and laws.

    Vision Test

    This test simply measures your vision acuity and range of field.

    Driver's License Test

    To obtain your license, head to any license agency. The driving test is free, but you'll need to make an appointment with the branch to take your road test. To try for your license, you must:

    Be at least 16 years, 30 days old. (This is only if you've had a valid driver education permit for a minimum of 60 days. Also, you must have successfully completed an approved driving education course).

    Be at least 16 years, 180 days old, and have held a valid learner's permit for at least 60 days).

    Pass the vision test.

    Pass the written test if you haven't already done so.

    Give proof of both your identity and date of birth from the approved documentation list.

    Successfully complete the road skills test (unless you have a waiver, achieved through your driving education course).

    Also, if you're younger than 18, a parent or legal guardian will need to sign the financial responsibility form or section of the application in the presence of a notary.

    You'll have a total of three chances to pass both the written and driving tests. If you fail the driving test, you'll have to wait at least two weeks before trying again.

    Expiration Schedule

    If you're between the ages of 18 and 75, your new license will be valid for six years. If you're between 75 and 85, it's good for three years. And, if you're 85 or older, it's good for two years.

    On the other end of the spectrum, if you're younger than 18, your license is considered to be probationary, and will expire on your 21st birthday.

    "Probationary" means that for the 90-day period after receiving your license, you will need to have a licensed driver who is at least 21 sitting in the passenger seat―if there are other passengers in the car. Also, during this period you must be sure that you and all your passengers are wearing their seat belts when your car is in motion.

    After this period is over―and if you are now at least 18―you may go back to any license agency and have the restriction removed. It will cost you $10 to have your license changed.

    Fees

    The fee you'll pay for your license varies by your age:

    Younger than 18: $14

    18-74: $21

    75-85: $11

    85 and older: $7

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.