How should I learn Arabic?

Okay, so My dad is Arab and speaks Arabic fluently.

The bad thing is that he never speaks it in the house and so my brothers and I never learned it.

I've been trying to get him to teach me for years, and he never has. I also have done numerous CDs, computer programs, websites, and books which help a bit with vocab. I can't seem to stick to anything and I don't have time for a class because I'm a full time student and I work as well.

Yesterday I decided that I was going to only speak Arabic with my father. I know enough to get by, but I want to be more fluent by the summer so I can talk to my family when we go visit and know what is going on.

Anyways, my plan is to insist that I don't understand my father when he speaks english, and make him speak Arabic. The only problem is, instead of speaking in Arabic, I end up just not speaking. Will I really retain the language this way?

I just don't know if this is the right way to go. Any help or advice would be appreciate

Update:

I go abroad to Jordan and Palestine every other year to visit family, but they always speak in English around me , so I guess I could go by myself one summer or something. I just want to learn ASAP.

I've tried Pimsleur.. it was okay, it's just kinda expensive and hard to keep up with.

I've also tried Rosetta Stone, but my dad didnt even recognize the words they used because they were not Modern.

Maybe I could try them again....

Update 2:

Also, I know how to read Arabic, and My pronounciation is good.

I just want to learn how to hold a Conversation.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer