Does the away goal scoring win stand in Champions League?

I know there's a correct way of saying it. For Example, Barcelona is down 2-1 agaisnt Liverpool. So if Barca scores 1 to tie it do they win because of scoring away and making it a tie or do they have to score 2 to win?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    if bara scored one they dont win because liverpool got 2 away goals.they'll have to score 2 to win. if it ends 2-1 it will go to extra time because both team have 2 away goals and 1 home goal.

    away goal count in the champions league.

  • 1 decade ago

    First it's by aggregate, then away goals. If Barcelona wins by 1-0 in the next match, they will be tied with Liverpool in an aggregate of 2-2. But, since Liverpool scored 2 away goals while Barcelona only scored 1 away goal, Liverpool would win on away goals and advance to the next stage.

    Then like the guy above me said, if it ends in a tie in aggregate and in away goals, the match will go into extra time and then into penalty kicks if a tie remains.

  • 1 decade ago

    the away goal is the first tiebreaker in the UEFA Champions' League should the match finish level on aggregate. FC Barcelona would still be eliminated even if they win 1-0 so they must now win by at least two clear goals to beat Liverpool on aggregate.

    a 2-1 win for the Catalan club would send the match into extra time & a possible penalty shoot-out could be required if no winner is decided at the end of the extra time period.

  • 1 decade ago

    Firstly, Barcelona were beaten at home - so should they score one (away) goal to tie, Liverpool has more advantage since they scored two (away) goals. So, an overall draw would be a loss for Barcelona. Barcelona need to score two clear goals provided Liverpool does not score........The scores (2:1), (1:0), (3:2) to Barca will not help.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    if the score is 2-2 during the first match and the second match ends up 0-0 then Barca would be the winner on aggregate, due to the away goal.

  • 1 decade ago

    the Barca must win at least 2-0 or 3-2 .

  • 1 decade ago

    Yes the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Cup use the away goals rule.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.