Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

oscar asked in SportsFootball (American) · 1 decade ago

If a receiver catches the ball and fumbles through the end zone. Where is the spoted?

Update:

He fumbles the ball, say on the 10 yard line, and the ball rolls through the end zone.

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    If no one else touched it, then it would be ruled a touchdown, if it was a forced fumble, it would be ruled a touchback, giving it to the other team on the 20 yard line.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    It depends on who has the ball or where he fumbled it or caught it first. If he caught it in the end zone and fumbled and got the ball back it is a touchdown, if he fumbled it on the line close to end zone and then it landed in endzone and a teamate or he got it in endzone it is extra yardage and a touchdown. The ball is spotted where ever the person fumbled it if the ball that was fumbled goes out of bounds. If it fumbles and goes through end zone and out of bounds it is spotted right where the person fumbled, hope my answer was good. I love sports even know I am a girl, lol. Yes and it depends on what end zone it is in, if its in the endzone after a fumbled received punt it is a touchback, second time fumbled in endzone would be a safety.

  • Joyce
    Lv 4
    5 years ago

    I'm confused as to who is reovering the ball here. Let me make it simple. 1) A player possesses a ball in his opponent's end zone - Always a touchdown. 2) A player posesses a ball in his own end zone at the end of the play - Can be a touchback or safety. - If the opponent put the ball in the end zone - touchback - If the player or his teammate put the ball in the end zone - safety There cannot be a score awarded until the play is over, so there is no way to have two safeties (or two of any type of score) on the same play.

  • 1 decade ago

    If he fumbles AFTER crossing the goal line it is a TD. If he fumbles BEFORE crossing the goal line it is a touchback and the other team gets the ball on their 20 yard line.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    It's a touchback and the ball is spotted on the 20 yard line and the opponent gets the football.

  • 1 decade ago

    The ball is spotted at the 20 yard line with the other team in possesion (that is if he fumbles through the endzone they are trying to get into). If he fumbels out of the other endzone it is a saftey.

  • 1 decade ago

    If it's his own end zone it is a safety and the other team gets the ball via a safety punt. If it's the opponents endzone(the one they are going for to score) then it is a touchback and given to the other team at the 20.

  • Brent
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

    The opposing team gets possession and the ball is spotted on their own 20 yard line.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Touchback and the defense gets it at the 20. That is assuming he fumbled forward.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Its a touchdown, he didnt specify if it was a forced fumble or not so why would you give me a thumbs down?

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.