Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationCar MakesHonda · 1 decade ago

Is this product legit?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes they allow you to override the factory setting with a laptop. For the tuner guys who know what they are doing.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

I have been working in an automotive repair shop for over 5 years. These performance modules operate by substituting values for the computer rather than the computer using the sensors to determine what it should do as in advance or retard timing, change the air/fuel mixture, etc. In some cases your are taking a risk by changing these settings. A 25% gain is unreasonable. If there is any horsepower gain whatsoever it will probably effect your gas mileage which in turn increases your emission output. If the settings that this module changes had such a positive gain the manufacturer would preset the computer to run that way. Diesel engines are usually the only type of engine you would want to change the computer settings on. Hope this helps.

• 1 decade ago

Seems fake to me. As a rule most Honda / Acura products your cars age OBD2a/b up to 2000 are tuned well from the factory.

Only way to get more power is by adding parts and then retuning.

Ford and Toyota for example are not tuned to their peak performance and can generally gain power from tuning.

RSX can also gain power from just tuning.

Another hint of the products flaws lie in the fact that it is recommended for 1996-2000 Si.

Honda only made Si in 1999-2000.

My guess is it is generic trash to waste economy and do little to improve performance.

PS same goes for any 'Chips' I would only get my car retuned once modification is complete. i.e. a whole package to gain most HP.

Sorry for the long answer

Hope it helps you,

KC

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago