Ingredients of Gelatin?

What are the ingredients of Gelatin? Thanks.

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    basically is created by prolonged boiling of connective tissue such as skin, cartilage, and bones obtained from the animal processing industry

    • Login to reply the answers
  • tannie
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

    Ingredients In Gelatin

    • Login to reply the answers
  • mattan
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

    Gelatin Ingredients

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    Gelatin is derived from collagen, an insoluble fibrous protein which is the principal constituent of connective tissues and bones. Cattle hides are the least used gelatin raw material in North America today. Ossein usually requires more liming than cattle hides. Porkskin is currently the most significant raw material source for production of edible gelatin in North America.

    The raw material for gelatin manufacture is the naturally occurring protein collagen, which is commercially sourced from the meat industry. Gelatin contains 84-90% protein, 1-2% mineral salts and 8-15% water. Gelatin is a foodstuff and not a food additive.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    Gelatine is a pure protein obtained from animal raw materials containing collagen. The natural and healthy food has excellent gelling strength. But gelatine can do a lot more. Because of its broad spectrum of capabilities it is used in the most varied industries for a large number of products.

    Gelatine Contains:

    84-90% protein

    1-2% mineral salts

    the rest is water

    Gelatine does not contain any preservatives or other additives. It is free of cholesterol and purines (= uric acid compounds).

    • Login to reply the answers
  • umm
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

    Gelatin is a protein, made from the hydrolysis of collagen, a protein that makes up about a third of all mammalian tissue. Collagen is what makes up much of the connective tissue, tendons, and the protein part of bones.

    Hydrolysis in proteins is the process of adding a molecule of water to break the bonds between some of the amino acids, thereby making the protein chains smaller.

    Gelatin (also gelatine, from French gélatine) is a translucent brittle solid substance, colorless or slightly yellow, nearly tasteless and odorless, which is created by prolonged boiling of connective tissue such as skin, cartilage, and bones obtained from the animal processing industry. It has been commonly used in food, pharmaceutical, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing. Substances containing gelatin or functioning in a similar way are called gelatinous. Gelatin is an irreversibly hydrolyzed form of collagen. Gelatin is also known as E number

    Gelatin is a protein produced by partial hydrolysis of collagen extracted from connective tissues of animals such as porcine and bovines. The natural molecular bonds between individual collagen strands are broken down into a form that rearranges more easily. Gelatin melts when heated and solidifies when cooled again. Together with water it forms a semi-solid colloidal gel. Gelatin forms a solution of high viscosity in water, which sets to a gel on cooling and its chemical composition is, in many respects, closely similar to that of its parent collagen. [1] Gelatin solutions show viscoelastic flow and streaming birefringence. If gelatin is put into contact with cold water, some of the material dissolves. The solubility of the gelatin is determined by the method of manufacture. Typically, gelatin can be dispersed in a relatively concentrated acid. Such dispersions are stable for 10-15 days, with little or no chemical changes, and are suitable for coating purposes or for extrusion into a precipitating bath. Gelatin is also soluble in most polar solvents. Gelatin gels exist over only a small temperature range, the upper limit being the melting point of the gel which depends on gelatin grade and concentration and the lower limit the ice point at which ice crystallizes out. The mechanical properties are very sensitive to temperature variations, previous thermal history of the gel, and time. Gelatin concentration and the temperature have important effects on viscosity. The higher they are, the higher viscosity is obtained.

    Collagen forms a triple helix, where three chains of connected amino acids form weak hydrogen bonds between the double bonded oxygen atoms and the hydrogen atoms attached to the adjacent chain's nitrogens. The three chains then twist together like three cords in a rope.

    In gelatin, when the triple helices are heated in water, they open up, and some of the hydrolyzed ends fray out to tangle with other ropes, and water is trapped in the strands. The result is a gel, a wiggly semi-solid mass.

    *I got this from a website below*

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    Found on this site: International Vegetarian Union Hope it helps.

    Gelatin (US spelling) or gelatine (British spelling) (used to make Jell-o and other desserts) is made from the boiled bones, skins and tendons of animals. An alternative substance is called Agar-Agar, which is derived from seaweed. Another is made from the root of the Kuzu. Agar-Agar is sold in noodle-like strands, in powdered form, or in long blocks, and is usually white-ish in color.

    Some Kosher gelatins are made with agar-agar, most are not. Some things that are vegan that are replacing gelatin are: guar gum and carrageenan. Only some 'emulsifiers' are vegan. Gelatin is used in photography. Although the technology exists to replace photographic film, its price is currently prohibitive and there is insufficient demand. Hopefully, with the growth of vegetarianism and veganism, this situation will soon change.

    What is kosher gelatine?

    from the Vegetarian Resource Group:

    Kosher gelatin can be made with fish bones, and/or beef skins. Contrary to assumptions, it is also considered kosher to use it with dairy products. Kosher law is very complex and the bones and hides used in gelatin production are considered pareve. The general meaning of pareve refers to foods that are neither milk nor meat, and many people assume this means that the product is vegetarian. However, OU pareve certified ingredients can have animal products, such as fish, eggs, and gelatin, in them.

    "Kosher Gelatin Marshmallows: Glatt Kosher and 'OU-Pareve'," an article that appeared in Kashrus Magazine, explains the distinctions. A quote from the article is as follows:

    "...since the gelatin product is from hides or bones - not real flesh - and has undergone such significant changes, it is no longer considered 'fleishig' (meat) but 'pareve', and can be eaten with dairy products."

    Is there vegan gelatine?

    from a reader in Germany:

    "Gelatine" is a substance made of animal bones and other parts of the animal's body. So if there's a product with "gelatine", it can't be vegan.

    But there exists a big variety of substances which are vegan an which have the same properties as gelatine: Cellulose (Amid), Agar-Agar, Biobin, Guar, Xanthan, Carob fruit and others. (Unfortunately I do not know the exact english names, but maybe this will help you already.).

    So if you read on the ingredient list that gelatine is used, then you can be sure that this product is NOT vegan. But if one or more of the other mentioned subsances appear on the list, you can be sure that you can eat them even as vegan.

    Source(s): The Book of Diana
    • Login to reply the answers
  • JustMe
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago

    Gelatin

    A thickening agent and food item made from pigskins or from beef bones, cartilage, and tendons. It is then processed into an unflavored, transparent protein powder and sold in a powder form, as granules, or as thin sheets which may be referred to as "leaves." Since gelatin is pure protein and since it has unique characteristics as a substance, is has many uses for the manufacturing and preparation of foods. The key characteristic of gelatin that is most important is its ability to "gel" or become solid in its shape. Prior to dissolving gelatin in liquid, it is important to soak it for 4 to 5 minutes in order to allow it to soften, increase in size and make it easier to dissolve as the water temperature increases. As the water becomes warm around this protein and the gelatin particles begin to enlarge, they absorb the water resulting in a mixture that is known as a "sol" where the gelatin substance is energized from the heat and remains freely flowing in a liquid state. Then, as the solution cools the existing energy begins to decrease and the liquid starts to form a "gel" which is the point when the gelatin starts to solidify. However, there is another state that may occur prior to becoming a gel when the substance is not fully solid. If the gelatin is whipped or beaten so air is added prior to the gel hardening, the gelatin becomes a thick, airy, smooth-textured substance. This procedure is used to make foods such as souffles or mousse desserts for which the smooth substance enhances the appearance, flavor and texture of the item being prepared. Further, when gelatin is processed into a frozen state, it forms ice cream and results in a food with a creamy texture.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    Gelatin (US spelling) or gelatine (British spelling) (used to make Jell-o and other desserts) is made from the boiled bones, skins and tendons of animals. An alternative substance is called Agar-Agar, which is derived from seaweed.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    I don't know all the ingredients but I know that there is animal hooves grounded up, because my cousin is a vegetarian and she won't eat any gelatin based products like jello or mayonnaise

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.