promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Meaning of months in finnish language?

Im studying finnish language. Does anybody knows the origins of the month names. Tammikuu (Jan), Helmikuu (Feb), Maaliskuu (May), etc.

for example:

tammikuu: month of the oak.

helmikuu: month of the pearl

maaliskuu: originates from maallinen kuu meaning earthy month.

kiitos paljon =)

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

If you have studied enough to read yourself, you can check the origins of all the names from wikipedia in Finnish: http://fi.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kuukausi (a separate link to all different months there). But I'll translate briefly some key points:

Tammikuu: It's the first year of the month and in the middle of the winter, and surprisingly, this is where the name comes from. "Tammi", which nowadays means "oak", used to mean "hub" or "axis" in several dialects. So originally the name of this month refers to it's place in the center of the winter, or the whole year if you want to think it that way.

Helmikuu: It's sometimes claimed that this month got is name from the small ice droplets that form over the tips of the branches (especially for birch trees I suppose). Those droplets look somewhat like little icy pearls (helmi = pearl, as you knew already).

Maaliskuu: yeah, you got that one right. Maaliskuu originates probably from "maallinen kuu", "earthy month", because that's the last of the winter months, and earth starts to reveal itself when the snow melts away.

Huhtikuu: this one comes from the word "huhta", which meant area cleared and burnt-over for cultivation (and it was conifer tree forest which was growing there; I don't know if there's a special word for other kind of forests cleared and burnt), because this was the month when this kind of areas were cleared.