opinionated asked in PetsDogs · 1 decade ago

What is the most unique command that you have taught your dog? How did you teach it?

I am a pet trainer, and I am always looking for new ideas to teach the dogs in my classes. I have all the basics, like sit, down, stay, come, walk on a leash without pulling, take it, leave it, drop it, shake, high five, wave, touch, turn on a light, heel, on you bed, open a door or fridge for a cold beverage (hehehehe), dance, push a ball through a goal, and things like that. Any new ideas for fun tricks?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I trained my dog to walk one of my other dogs. He would grab the leash and walk the other dog. I just taught him to grab the lease and then to hold on to it. Then, I would tell him to walk by me with the leash still in his mouth (with the other dog attached).

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

We have taught our Chesapeake Bay Retriever the "names" of most of her toys - when we want her to bring a specific toy to play with we tell her to "go get the big Kong" or "go get the squeaky ball". Sometimes the silly girl will mess with us. She will bring the "wrong" toy, drop it, then go look for the one we told her to get.

I am constantly amazed at the number of items she has learned. We taught her simply by using the agreed upon name for each item a LOT when playing with her. Once she caught on to the first couple teaching more was easy.

• 1 decade ago

We trained our Jack Russell with different phrases for standard commands.

For rollover--we say "show me your belly". THIS is the vet and doggie day care favorite! Always good for an "AHHHHHHH".

For him to go away--we say "scram, beat it" and he actually hauls butt around the corner and out of sight.