opinionated asked in PetsDogs · 1 decade ago

Dog training problems....?

I have a 1 year old German Shepard in one of my training classes, but he is afraid to walk in the door. Nothing bad has ever happened to him in the store, or any store in fact. He is fine when he walks onto the carpet, but freezes before he will walk on the regular floor. The only way we can get him into the training ring is to carry or drag him, which we don't want. Once he gets into the ring, he is fine. I am sure it is the floor that bothers him. It is just like any other store floor. We have tried treats, coaxing, commands he already knows, distracting him, getting him all excited on the carpet, tossing balls, everything I could think of. We even tried steak! Any realistic ideas to help him? I have been a dog trainer for 3 years and never seen this problem this bad. Help!

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Lilah
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Get him moving really good and then just keep walking. The dog needs to move past the shiney floor problem. Keep him going forward, even if you feel you are dragging him. Giving him treats while he is freaking out is only making him think that freaking out is ok. Once on the floor, stop and let him deal with it a while then keep him moving forward. Be calm and don't get him all excited. Good luck.

Source(s): Saw this in Dog Whisperer and it worked wonders. Same problem with a great dane. You might even be able to look up the episode online. I was amazed at how well it worked. Within about 15 minutes the dog was over it.
  • 1 decade ago

You are right, it is his footing. He needs to be lead over different surfaces so that he is not afraid of a slippery floor.