Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Science & MathematicsEngineering · 1 decade ago

what are the material(s) used to make aircraft propeller?

-detail name of the material.

Update:

More details of the materials and please give details of your source.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Mav
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

When I was an engineer at Pratt and Whitney Aircraft, we specified hi grade aluminum alloy, type 6061, per Mil STD and ASM specifications.

Wood is still popular for small aircraft. Advanced aircraft now use Composite materials.

see the following link:

http://www.thirtythousandfeet.com/propelle.htm

Aircraft propellers are precision parts and they must be balanced.

Sandy

Source(s): Engineer
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Propeller Material:

Wood propellers are the lightest and present the smallest load to an engine assuming all else is equal (diameter, pitch and shape). They are capable of turning higher RPM than a heavier propeller.

Wooden propellers are also the most easily broken. My opinion is that wood propellers are the most efficient and best performing in the air. Others disagree and they may be right because I'm not a good enough pilot to really have an opinion.

In any case, if you nose over your planes often enough then wood propellers are probably a poor choice for you.

Fiberglass-filled nylon propellers are the heaviest propellers and also the most durable. These are a good choice for beginners because they hold up better than other types to propeller strikes. They are less efficient than wood or carbon fiber propellers, however.

Carbon Fiber Propellers are very rigid, but extremely expensive. I have seen carbon fiber propellers only for large engines. They may be available in smaller sizes in the future.

All of the above propeller materials maintain their shape well under load. Wood and carbon fiber are best.