Is vanilla extract gluten free?

I saw a gluten free recipe, but it included vanilla extract. I thought vanilla extract wasn't gluten free!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Gluten comes from gluten-containing cereals: wheat (including Kamut and spelt), barley, rye, oats, and triticale.

    Real vanilla extract is made by soaking dried processed immature vanilla pods in some type of food-grade alcohol.

    Distilled food grade alcohols (made from grain) are made from the fermentation of wheat, barley or rye. Since they are distilled, they do not contain prolamins and are allowed ( in a gluten-free diet) unless otherwise contraindicated.

    Vanilla beans come from the vanilla orchid, which is a vine, not a cereal, and therefore does not have gluten.

    Therefore, gluten cannot be found in real vanilla extract.

    I don't know if artificial vanilla flavoring has gluten or not. You'd have to check the ingredients on the label and do your homework.

    Source(s): Wikipedia and http://www.celiac.ca
  • ishman
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

    Is Vanilla Extract Gluten Free

  • EDDie
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

    Yes, Vanilla extract is gluten free.

    Source(s): Culinary Chef http://www.culinarychef.com
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Vanilla extract is made from alcohol and vanilla beans...none of which has wheat or wheat gluten.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.