Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Magic mack asked in SportsCricket · 1 decade ago

Cricket , is it possible for an umpire to say a bowler throws ?

Ive played cricket, and watched all the problems with Test bowlers

who have been accused of throwing or chucking, my question is, how can an umpire in " Test cricket " watch the arm action , and where the front foot lands , at the same time , he cant see both.

Is there any answer, = or are umpires tampering with the truth. I dont believe they can give one or the other , without viewing the other , its a rule that must be corrected , what do you think ?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    I don't know anything about crickets except for the fact that they make that weird noise. You could go outside and put a bowl from your kitchen on top of the cricket to hope that he stops making that loud noise at nite. But in the end, if you're in an area with crickets then you're going to have cricket problems. Potato....

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    The umpires actually in a match cannot possibly say that a bowler is throwing, because at the point of delivery of the ball, the umpire at the wicket is only watching the bowler's feet to make sure he does not bowl a no ball.. and the umpire at square leg is not in a position to tell if the bowler's arm is bent or not, as he is meant to be watching the batsman's feet for stumpings and is diagonal to the bowler anyway

    That is why, when a bowler is accused of throwing by the opposition team, it takes a committee many weeks of carefully studying videos of the bowler's action to be able to make a proper decision. They often call in the bowler himself and film his action from every angle, so that they can decide properly. But it is never done during a match itself, so umpires are not "tampering with the truth"

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    You're absolutely right. The umpire at the bowler's end cannot see the position of the front foot landing as well as the arm position. That is why only the square leg umpire can call a bowler for throwing.

  • 1 decade ago

    If the umpire throws the tiddlywinks and thus distracting the eye of yon bowler, then perhaps we have approached a sticky wicket requiring an immediate reprise of play followed by a lovely application of aloe vera. At this time the bowler and batter both enjoy a cup of earl grey english breakfast tea with mr. poppers penguins. The penguins then say "tally hoe" and the match commences after a very colourful fox hunt. Cheerio.

    Source(s): ESPN 18,000
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    square leg umpire can

  • john
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

    its difficult

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.